The first inhabitants settled in Nääs as long ago as the Bronze Age. Maybe it was them who carved the cup marks in the rock face by Vänhem to commemorate a unique place or special event. Actual historical records document the different owners of the property from the late 1500s onwards. Nääs became a manor in the 1600s, owned by Jacob von Utfall who was a high ranking executive (a supercargo) of the Swedish East India Company, from the middle of the 1700s. In the beginning of the 1800s it was bought by the merchant Peter Wilhelm Berg, who built the nearby textile mill. From 1868 to 1898 Nääs was owned by the wholesale merchant August Abrahamson, who became the last private owner of the estate. A School of Crafts was founded during his time at Nääs, which became known internationally as a centre of excellence. Since his death on 6 May 1898 the property has been owned and run by the August Abrahamson Foundation.
The Nääs estate today is not just a listed national monument and a nature reserve, but also a large farm with its own fascinating story. Nääs castle, a landmark that sits enthroned on its own spit of land, proclaiming its place in history, is the estate’s crowning glory.